Karnataka polls: Siddaramaiah in delhi for list of candidates

BJP chief Amit Shah. PTI

BJP chief Amit Shah. PTI

BJP, which is trying to return to power in Karnataka after a gap of five years, has declared Yeddyurappa as its chief ministerial candidate, with a target of winning 150 out of 224 assembly seats.

The list of ruling Congress candidates for the 12 May Assembly polls in Karnataka may be released on 12 April, a party functionary said.

Four days after Chief Minister Siddaramaiah met Veerashaiva community members in Mysuru on Friday, a video showing Akhila Bharatha Veerashaiva Mahasabha Mysuru district President Hinkal Basavaraj promising the support of the entire community to the Chief Minister and the Congress party in the district, has gone viral.

The Congress had announced that it will declare its list of candidates in one go on April 15.

According to sources, the BJP is likely to field candidates for more than 140 seats and the names of remaining candidates are expected to be revealed soon.

Ahead of assembly elections in Karnataka, All India Mahila Empowerment Party (AIMEP) released its manifesto in the city on Wednesday. "We will be happy even if he is allowed to contest from both the constituencies", Hatti said at a press meet held at Mysuru Press Club on Tuesday.

The major national parties contesting the elections are Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Janata Dal and Janata Dal (Secular). He found mention in the first list of candidates, with the BJP fielding him from Alzalpur constituency. Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president G Parameshwara, state in-charge K C Venugopal and senior leader Madhusudan Mistry among others were present in the meeting.

Latest News