Gmail working on self-expiring emails

New Gmail Interface

New Gmail Default View New Gmail Comfortable View New Gmail Compact View

Apparently, the new self-destructing emails feature which will allow the users to put a timestamp to their mails after which the email won't be available anymore has been termed as the "Confidential Mode" in Gmail.

Instead, Gmail sends the recipient a dummy email with a hyperlink to the actual self-expiring message, which is what actually disappears when time expires.

Gmail's redesign will have some other snazzy new features as well. "We need a bit more time to compose ourselves, so can't share anything yet-archive this for now, and we'll let you know when it's time to hit send", the company teased. Users will be able to select a date when the email will expire, after which the receiver will no longer be able to see the email.

Earlier this week we delivered word of Google's forthcoming revamp of its Gmail web client, likely to officially debut at the I/O conference next month. These features will be an huge help to businesses that want more control over how emails are used by recipients. The recipient had to log into their Google account once again to view the content. The recipient will not be able to take a print out of this email or can not copy/paste the content as well.

Looking at the screenshots, users who are accustomed to the current look and functionality would not have to be scared of the upcoming changes.

As of now, it's unknown whether the feature is going to be compatible with non-Gmail users. This would be neat if sensitive information is being sent via the email. When it expires, it is automatically deleted from the inbox and the sender's inbox.

Since Google is working on some major updates now, it looks like there are plenty of new features to get excited about it. The message behind the link disappears after some time, but this doesn't mean that the intermediate email also disappears. On the other side, the confidentiality of mail content will be protected by a link, which only will be revealed after identity verification.

Want more posts like this delivered to your inbox?

Latest News