Rajya Sabha Elections 2018: Full List of 18 BJP Candidates in Fray

Rajya Sabha MP Jaya Bachchan during Parliament’s Budget Session in New Delhi

Rajya Sabha MP Jaya Bachchan during Parliament’s Budget Session in New Delhi

"There is infighting in the Congress and they are confused about their candidates".

The elections will be held on March 23 and the deadline for submission of nominations ends today.

The BJP, which re-nominated its Union ministers to Rajya Sabha last week, announced a list of 18 candidates that include some fresh faces and some newly inducted veterans, with an eye on caste representation.

"Due to personal reasons, I would like to be relieved of the responsibility as the GMCC president with immediate effect", stated Patel.

Monday was the last day for filing nominations, which can be withdrawn by March 15.

There were also rumours that Rajiv Shukla would be flown in to file the nomination papers.

But the airport authorities refused permission since re-carpeting was in progress. Congress leader and former state minister Rajmani Patel filed his nomination in afternoon. Four posts are likely to go the NDA while the Congress and the RJS are likely to get one seat each.

Whereas the BJP has re-nominated Union Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot from the seat, Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan was fielded from Madhya Pradesh for the first time.

Chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said presence of the two party members in Rajya Sabha will help in further development of state. The Congress, on the other hand, has 77 MLAs, and the support of four independents and one MLA of Bharatiya Tribal Party. Both the parties are in a position to send two candidates each to the Rajya Sabha.

From Haryana, the party has chose to put up Lt. Gen. (retd) D.P. Vats, a former director and commandant of the Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, who was earlier seen as close to Bhupinder Singh Hooda's Congress government in the state. Rana's candidature was announced thereafter.

Sources claimed that after SP MP Naresh Agarwal was denied renomination by Akhilesh Yadav for another term in the Rajya Sabha, the possibility of cross-voting by some of the SP MLAs in favour of the BJP candidates had increased.

"We are banking on the votes of eight Independents and seven rebel JD-S legislators to ensure the victory of our third candidate", said a Congress leader.

Latest News