Rajasthan by-polls 2018: Congress revival has begun from Rajasthan: Ashok Chavan

Ajmer by election results 2018: Live Updates

Rajasthan Bypolls: Ajmer Records 65.33% Polling, Alwar Registers 62% Voter Turnout, Mandalgarh - 80%

Buoyed by the results, a jubilant Congress president Rahul Gandhi hailed the party's Rajasthan unit for its impressive show, calling the outcome a "rejection" of the BJP by the people.

Raje had led the campaign and ministers along with party workers, booth-level operatives and local functionaries were deputed but appeared to have failed in the face of massive infighting and anger among farmers, Rajputs and government workers. Here the party's candidate Raghu Sharma won by a margin of over 80,000 votes. The Rajasthan By-election vote counting and the result will be done on the same day, 3 February. Congress candidate from Alwar, Karan Singh Yadav, has 1,72,535 votes. There seemed near unanimity among partymen of both sides on the outcome of Alwar parliamentary seat, but most found it hard to forecast the fate of and Mandalgarh assembly seat.

In the Alwar Lok Sabha constituency, it is a clash of the Yadavs. The results, which come ahead of Rajasthan polls due later this year, must be particularly disappointing for Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje. Alwar MP Chand Nath, Ajmer MP Sanwar Lal Jat, and Mandalgarh MLA Kirti Kumari (all of BJP) passed away a year ago.

As for the Mandalgarh assembly seat, though the party candidate was initially leading here, he later fell behind the Congress candidate by a large margin and lost.

"Well done Rajasthan Congress!"

The Congress today won an assembly seat in Rajasthan and raced to victory in two parliamentary bypolls, delivering a major.

She has secured 7,67,219 votes as against 2,93,018 votes bagged by the BJP candidate. "Why BJP denied a ticket to Jaswant Singh ji in 2014 general elections and is now ignoring him while he is bed-ridden?" In West Bengal, the Mamata Banerjee-led ruling Trinamul Congress won both the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat and the Noapara Assembly berth. While Ahmed polled 76,7219 votes, Mallick got 293,018.

Latest News